Historical Walking Tour
A walk down Norway's Main Street is a stroll back in time, showcasing numerous examples of period architecture dating back as far as the early 1800s, but mostly built immediately
after the Great Fire of 1894.
Unlike many small towns with similar histories, the buildings of Norway have remained relatively intact. Downtown Norway was listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 1998.
1. Norway Memorial Library, 1938: A gift to Norway by Maude Thompson Kaemmerling, this Georgian Revival design by Boston's William B. Coffin has recently been expanded, and is a vital cultural anchor.
2. Dr. Augustus French House, 1894: Masterful woodworking typical of Norway's Victorian era. Attributed to Norway's principle architect and builder, John B. Hazen. Built to replace a home lost to the 1894 fire. Dow's Law Office can be found here.
3. Tucker Block, 1894: Built as a harness shop that closed in 1958, one of Maine's last, after 150 years of service to the community. With its large oriel window and double-arched doorway, this is a rare example of a Queen Anne commercial building. Home to 290 Maine Street Restaurant and Western Maine Mortgage.
4. Odd Fellows Block, 1894: 1st floor, 1911 2nd and 3rd floors. Demonstrates the role that fraternal orders played in establishing businesses on Main Street. The second floor once housed the district court room and law offices, while the ground floor storefront has been home to a fancy goods store, a Ben Franklin Store in the '30s, and a Wilson Dollar Store in the '50s.
5. Norway Opera House, 1894: Distinctive clock tower and Romanesque arch define this enduring symbol of Norway. Designed by E.E. Lewis, who also designed the Odd Fellows Block. The second floor Grand Ballroom was used for training drills by the 133rd infantry in both World Wars. Shops exist in the restored 1st floor. The concert hall is currently the focus of a preservation effort.
6. Barber Shop, 1894: Built immediately after the Great Fire with Greek Revival design elements that hearken back to the mid-19th century. The Main Street Gallery exhibits the work of fine artists and artisans.
7. Stone's Drug Store, ca. 1881: This is one of the few buildings to survive the Great Fire of 1894. The top floor served as a meeting hall for the Grand Army of the Republic and later, the Knights of Pythias. Beginning in 1881, the bottom floor housed drug stores, but is now home to the Tribune.
8. Levi Whitman Building, circa 1810: Originally built as a commercial property, this is one of the oldest buildings on Main Street. A recent rehabilitation has beautifully exposed the original hand-hewn timber frame. Home to Cafe Nomad.
9. Advertiser Block, 1848, enlarged 1877 and 1887: Originally two separate blocks, the building was joined by a glass front around 1980. The northern (Main Street) portion of the building was home to a shoe and boot store, a Masonic Lodge, Norway Savings Bank, and the Norway Grange. The southern (Pikes Hill, formerly Bridge Street) section of the building was a small carpenter shop and a Grange Hall. The newspaper's many incarnations have occupied part or all of the building since the 1880s.
10. Grammar School, 1866: Double door, gabled front and semi-circular window reveal hints of Greek Revival style. Now home to the Western Maine Art Group and the Matolcsy Art Center. Originally the Upper Primary School, built for the children of the village section of Norway.
11. Evans-Cummings House, 1855: Remodeled 1885-1892. Locally known as the Gingerbread House, this unique structure was recently moved to its current location and is the focus of restoration efforts.
12. Fletcher's Candy Shop, 1894: With its fan motif and matching oriel windows, this is one of the most elaborate and unaltered examples of original wooden commercial architecture in Norway. Also known as the Danforth Block. It is now occupied by The Dragon's Lair.
13. Danforth House, 1836: One of the few 19th century buildings in Norway that has not undergone any renovations. Built for Dr. Asa Danforth, one of Norway's first physicians, who lived and worked in the building for almost 60 years.
14. Weary Club, 1927: Greek Revival built from salvaged lumber acquired from Beal's Tavern. Club's motto: Makers and dealers in Cedar Shavings, Social Gossip, Political Wisdom, and Yankee Philosophy. Admission is rumored to be granted only to those who can carve a cedar shaving light enough to float.
15. L. M. Longley and Son, 1867: This Greek Revival building is considered one of the most distinctive examples of mid-19th century commercial architecture in Maine. It is also unique in that is has always been run as a hardware store. The Norway Public Library once occupied the second floor. It currently houses the Green Machine Bike Shop.
16. Post Office Building, 1916: Fare Share Market, a natural foods cooperative, restored and now occupies this fine example of decorative woodworking for which Norway is known. Formerly home to a hostelry, a post office, an auto showroom, and a bakery.
17. Henry Bangs Store, 1899: Now housing Ari's Pizza, this gable roofed building is an important example of Norway's eclectic tradition of commercial architecture. It has been used by grocery operations since its construction.
18. Norway Grange, 1909: The large square wood-framed Grange was dedicated in 1909. The symmetrical interior features neoclassical design. The Norway Grange #45, Patrons of Husbandry, oversees the organization. The Grange is currently home to the Oxford Hills Music and Performing Arts Association (OHMPAA).
19. Increase Robinson House, 1800: Greatly expanded in 1818 with traits that accentuate the high Federalist style. From 1832-1859 it was the home of Squire William Clark Whitney, High Sheriff of Oxford County and one of the wealthiest men in the region. Eventually owned by Stephen Cummings, founder of CB Cummings & Sons, a wood products business.
20. First Universalist Church of Norway, 1829: The oldest continuously existing Universalist Church in Maine and home to Norway's first congregation, formed in 1799. Built in a Federal Style by Ezra Fluent Beal. It was raised and a basement meeting space added in 1865; the space was Norway's most important gathering place for town meetings and major social events until the Opera House was built. The dome and weathervane were added in 1913. Features stained glass.